Clerk's Office
Borough Clerk: Richard K. Phoenix, RMC 908-769-2910
Deputy Borough Clerk: Stephanie Sherwood 908-769-2904

Borough Code

Definitions of the Role

A Municipal Clerk, as defined in New Jersey Statutes Annotated (N.J.S.A.) 40A:9-133, performs many statutory duties and serves the Governing Body and Municipal Corporation. A Municipal Clerk maintains high ethical standards and remains impartial and apolitical in dealing with Public Officials and citizens.

Responsibilities

Serves the Governing Body & Municipal Corporation

  • Accepts service of legal documents
  • Administers Oaths of Office
  • Advises and guides the Governing Body on the Open Public Meetings Act, Elections, Open Public Records Act and other applicable Statutes
  • Ensures all Open Public Records Act requests are handled in a timely manner
  • OPRA Request Form: OPRA Request Email: rphoenix@npmail.org
  • Maintains custody of official documents/records, the Municipal Seal, attests to signatures of Officials and signs official documents
  • Prepares Resolutions, Ordinances, and Meeting Agendas. Attends all Borough
    Council meetings and prepares Minutes.
  • Processes and publishes Ordinances: Borough Code

Administrative Officer

  • Insures compliance with the Local Government Ethics Law regarding Financial Disclosure Statements
  • Maintains receipt of Landlord/Tenant Registrations
    Landlord Registration Form
  • Receives and processes Tort Claims
  • Tort Claim Form - Available Soon
  • Responsible for all Liquor License activities including the renewal process, transfers or any changes to License
  • Reviews, approves and processes:
    • Certified List Application
    • Coin Operated Amusement Devices Licenses - Available Soon
    • Garage Sale Permit
    • Limousine Licenses - Available Soon
    • Motor Vehicle Sales License - Available Soon
    • Outdoor Sidewalk Café Licenses - Available Soon
    • Raffle and Bingo applications and Licenses - Available Soon
    • Taxi Driver Licenses - Available Soon
    • Taxi Owner Licenses - Available Soon
    • Vendor and Vending Business Licenses​ - Available Soon

Election Official

  • Accepts, certifies and maintains receipt of nominating petitions
  • Guides the public on voting rights and election laws
  • Assists residents with registering to vote and confirming voter registration
    Voter Registration Application
  • Oversees the primary and general elections and tallies election results
  • Secures polling locations

Records Manager

  • Responsible for implementing local archives and records programs including records storage, retention and destruction according to Statute
North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Monday 2 August 2021
All day
Grove St. Sewer Work Starts Today
Tuesday 3 August 2021
6:00PM - 8:00PM
National Night Out
Wednesday 4 August 2021
7:00PM
Cancelled - Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Mayor's Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Thursday 5 August 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 7 August 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
9:30AM
Greenbrook Flood Control Commission
10:00AM - 2:00PM
J&J Vaccine Clinic Today!
Monday 9 August 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
Wednesday 11 August 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM
Mayor's Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Saturday 14 August 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
Monday 16 August 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 17 August 2021
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 18 August 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Mayor's Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Saturday 21 August 2021
All day
Senior Citizens Day
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Wednesday 25 August 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM
Mayor's Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Saturday 28 August 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 29 August 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Tuesday 31 August 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 1 September 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 2 September 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 4 September 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
Monday 6 September 2021
All day
LABOR DAY - Borough Hall Closed
Tuesday 7 September 2021
All day
Rosh Hashanah
Wednesday 8 September 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 9 September 2021
7:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Saturday 11 September 2021
All day
Patriot Day
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
Sunday 12 September 2021
All day
Grandparents Day
Monday 13 September 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 15 September 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 16 September 2021
All day
Yom Kippur
Friday 17 September 2021
All day
National POW/MIA Recognition Day
All day
Citizenship Day
Saturday 18 September 2021
All day
National CleanUp Day
8:30AM - 1:00PM
Clean Community Day
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Tuesday 21 September 2021
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
7:30PM
Library Advisory Committee Meeting
7:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Wednesday 22 September 2021
All day
First Day of Fall
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 25 September 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
11:00AM - 4:00PM
Fall Festival
Sunday 26 September 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Monday 27 September 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 28 September 2021
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Saturday 2 October 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
12:00PM - 3:00PM
Senior Picnic
Wednesday 6 October 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Greenbrook Flood Control Commission
Thursday 7 October 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Monday 11 October 2021
All day
Columbus Day - Borough Hall Closed
Tuesday 12 October 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 13 October 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Friday 15 October 2021
All day
Boss's Day
Saturday 16 October 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 18 October 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
Tuesday 19 October 2021
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 20 October 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Saturday 23 October 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 25 October 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 26 October 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 27 October 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours: Summer Schedule
Monday Tuesday Thursday
8:00am - 4:30pm
Wednesday
8:00am - 6:00pm
Friday
8:00am - 2:00pm
(Excluding Holidays)