The North Plainfield Police Department is committed to a productive partnership with the community. In an effort to expand that partnership and provide more comprehensive services to the community the North Plainfield Police Department is initiating Operation Watch Dog. This program encourages residents and businesses to register their privately owned home/business video surveillance in efforts to increase safety and reduce crime. The department recognizes that crimes can be committed at any place or time and that home/business video surveillance may have captured vital footage that could help solve crimes in our community. During a criminal investigation our officers are often unaware of the many residences and businesses that have surveillance systems who may have captured footage of value to the investigation. Having knowledge of the location of a surveillance system in the area of a crime could be instrumental in a successful resolution.

There are several benefits to registering with the North Plainfield Police Department Operation Watch Dog. It expedites the retrieval of footage from surveillance systems close to the crime scene in an effort to uncover criminal activity. It also reduces the number of officers assigned to canvass the area around a crime scene for operational surveillance systems. This allows officers assigned to the investigation to be deployed to other tasks in the investigation thereby enabling a higher degree of efficiency of allocated resources. Please note that this program does not give police the ability to tap into any home or business surveillance feeds.

If you are signed up for the Operation Watch Dog and a crime occurs in your neighborhood, you may be contacted by a North Plainfield Police Officer who would ask if you could examine the time frame in question for potential video footage. If your equipment was able to record pertinent information, we would arrange a convenient time and day to retrieve the footage from you.

Your participation in Operation Watch Dog always remains 100% voluntary and your personal information will be kept confidential and not for public dissemination. Only law enforcement personnel can view the surveillance footage.

Operation Watch Dog is just another useful tool which offers residents and businesses the opportunity to partner with the North Plainfield Police Department in the fight against crime throughout the township. If you would like to participate in this program residents and businesses are encouraged to register their cameras at no cost by filling out a short application below.

How it works:

  • Registration:

    This step is easy and takes just a few minutes to complete. You provide contact information and tell us where your cameras are located. There is no cost for registration.

  • Confirmation:

    Once the application is completed, a member of the North Plainfield Police Department who will follow up with you to confirm your information.

  • Call for Assistance:

    The North Plainfield Police will only contact you if there is a criminal incident in the area of your security cameras. Police personnel may request a copy of any video captured by your cameras which may be pertinent to the investigation.

Add Watchdog Registration Information






North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Friday 1 October 2021 - Sunday 31 October 2021
1:00AM - 11:45PM
FIRE PREVENTION MONTH
Monday 18 October 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Legends of Liberty Hall
Tuesday 19 October 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
FLU & COVID VACCINE CLINIC
7:00PM - 8:00PM
When There Were Witches
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 20 October 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 21 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Understanding Medicare
Friday 22 October 2021
2:00PM - 3:30PM
Thyroid Health
Saturday 23 October 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Sin, Guilt, and Mercy: Nathaniel Hawthorne’s Poetic Justice
Monday 25 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Wild Bones of New Jersey
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 26 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Mark Twain and the Supernatural
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 27 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Thirteen Reasons Why It’s Fun to Watch Hitchcock Films
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 28 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Poisoned Glass: A Famous, Forgotten Murder
Saturday 30 October 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
1:00PM - 4:00PM
Storytime in the Pumpkin Patch
Sunday 31 October 2021
All day
Halloween!
12:00PM - 1:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Tuesday 2 November 2021
All day
ELECTION DAY - Borough Hall Open
Wednesday 3 November 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 4 November 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 6 November 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 7 November 2021
All day
Daylight Saving Time Ends
Monday 8 November 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
Wednesday 10 November 2021
7:00PM
Cancelled - Planning Board
Thursday 11 November 2021
All day
Veterans Day
Saturday 13 November 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 15 November 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 16 November 2021
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
7:30PM
Library Advisory Committee Meeting
Wednesday 17 November 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Saturday 20 November 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Tuesday 23 November 2021
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
Wednesday 24 November 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 25 November 2021
All day
THANKSGIVING - Borough Hall Closed
Friday 26 November 2021
All day
Day After Thanksgiving - Borough Hall Closed
Saturday 27 November 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 28 November 2021
12:00PM - 1:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Monday 29 November 2021
All day
First Day Of Chanukah
Tuesday 30 November 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 1 December 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Greenbrook Flood Control Commission
Thursday 2 December 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 4 December 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 5 December 2021
4:00PM - 6:00PM
Tree Lighting and Santa Comes to Town
Monday 6 December 2021
All day
Last Day Of Chanukah
Wednesday 8 December 2021
7:00PM
Cancelled - Planning Board
Thursday 9 December 2021
7:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
7:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Saturday 11 December 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 13 December 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 15 December 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 16 December 2021
All day
Holiday Home Decorating Contest Begins
Saturday 18 December 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Tuesday 21 December 2021
All day
First Day of Winter
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 22 December 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Friday 24 December 2021
All day
CHRISTMAS EVE - Borough Hall Closed
Saturday 25 December 2021
All day
CHRISTMAS DAY
Sunday 26 December 2021
All day
First Day of KWANZAA
12:00PM - 1:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Tuesday 28 December 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Friday 31 December 2021
All day
NEW YEAR'S EVE - Borough Hall Closed
Saturday 1 January 2022
All day
NEW YEAR'S DAY
Wednesday 12 January 2022
7:00PM
Cancelled - Planning Board

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours: Summer Schedule
Monday Tuesday Thursday
8:00am - 4:30pm
Wednesday
8:00am - 6:00pm
Friday
8:00am - 2:00pm
(Excluding Holidays)