The North Plainfield Police Department is committed to a productive partnership with the community. In an effort to expand that partnership and provide more comprehensive services to the community the North Plainfield Police Department is initiating Operation Watch Dog. This program encourages residents and businesses to register their privately owned home/business video surveillance in efforts to increase safety and reduce crime. The department recognizes that crimes can be committed at any place or time and that home/business video surveillance may have captured vital footage that could help solve crimes in our community. During a criminal investigation our officers are often unaware of the many residences and businesses that have surveillance systems who may have captured footage of value to the investigation. Having knowledge of the location of a surveillance system in the area of a crime could be instrumental in a successful resolution.

There are several benefits to registering with the North Plainfield Police Department Operation Watch Dog. It expedites the retrieval of footage from surveillance systems close to the crime scene in an effort to uncover criminal activity. It also reduces the number of officers assigned to canvass the area around a crime scene for operational surveillance systems. This allows officers assigned to the investigation to be deployed to other tasks in the investigation thereby enabling a higher degree of efficiency of allocated resources. Please note that this program does not give police the ability to tap into any home or business surveillance feeds.

If you are signed up for the Operation Watch Dog and a crime occurs in your neighborhood, you may be contacted by a North Plainfield Police Officer who would ask if you could examine the time frame in question for potential video footage. If your equipment was able to record pertinent information, we would arrange a convenient time and day to retrieve the footage from you.

Your participation in Operation Watch Dog always remains 100% voluntary and your personal information will be kept confidential and not for public dissemination. Only law enforcement personnel can view the surveillance footage.

Operation Watch Dog is just another useful tool which offers residents and businesses the opportunity to partner with the North Plainfield Police Department in the fight against crime throughout the township. If you would like to participate in this program residents and businesses are encouraged to register their cameras at no cost by filling out a short application below.

How it works:

  • Registration:

    This step is easy and takes just a few minutes to complete. You provide contact information and tell us where your cameras are located. There is no cost for registration.

  • Confirmation:

    Once the application is completed, a member of the North Plainfield Police Department who will follow up with you to confirm your information.

  • Call for Assistance:

    The North Plainfield Police will only contact you if there is a criminal incident in the area of your security cameras. Police personnel may request a copy of any video captured by your cameras which may be pertinent to the investigation.

Add Watchdog Registration Information






North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Tuesday 24 November 2020
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 25 November 2020
7:00PM
Cancelled - Planning Board
Thursday 26 November 2020
All day
THANKSGIVING - Borough Hall Closed
Friday 27 November 2020
All day
THANKSGIVING - Borough Hall Closed
Sunday 29 November 2020
4:00PM - 6:00PM
Cancelled - Tree Lighting and Santa Comes to Town
Monday 30 November 2020
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Historic Houses for Contemporary Lives
Wednesday 2 December 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meditation
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Greenbrook Flood Control Commission
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 3 December 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Navigating the FAFSA
Friday 4 December 2020
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Fraud Watch Network Basics - Presented by Cristina Anastasio of AARP
Saturday 5 December 2020
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Free Rabies Clinic
Sunday 6 December 2020
4:00PM
Tree Lighting and Santa Comes to Town
Monday 7 December 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Remembering Pearl Harbor
Tuesday 8 December 2020
11:00AM - 12:00PM
Email 101 for the Job Seeker
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Seasonal Mocktails The Art of Non-Alcoholic Mixology
Wednesday 9 December 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Christmas Lights of New York City
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 10 December 2020
All day
1st Day of Chanukah
12:00PM - 1:00PM
Lunch ‘N Learn with the Doctors: Lung Cancer
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Virtual Book Discussion Salon: "Common Sense" by Thomas Paine
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Saturday 12 December 2020
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open today
2:00PM - 3:30PM
Andrew Carnegie: Man of Steel, Heart of Gold
Monday 14 December 2020
5:00PM
Shade Tree Commission
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Healthy Holidays
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 15 December 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Executive Presence in a Two-Dimensional World
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 16 December 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Songs of the Season: Performed by Robin Greenstein
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 17 December 2020
12:00PM - 5:30PM
RWJ Blood Drive
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Wizard of Oz: A Staged Radio Play
Friday 18 December 2020
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Barre Fusion
Saturday 19 December 2020
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open today
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Keeping the Christmas Spirit in the Victorian Era and Now
7:00PM
Operation Back Pack Benefit Concert
Monday 21 December 2020
All day
WINTER BEGINS!
Wednesday 23 December 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 24 December 2020
All day
CHRISTMAS EVE - Borough Hall Closed
Friday 25 December 2020
All day
CHRISTMAS - Borough Hall Closed
Saturday 26 December 2020
All day
KWANZAA
Thursday 31 December 2020
All day
NEW YEAR'S EVE - Borough Hall Closed
Friday 1 January 2021
All day
NEW YEAR'S DAY - Borough Hall Closed
12:00PM
Council Reorganization Meeting
Wednesday 6 January 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 7 January 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Monday 11 January 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 13 January 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 16 January 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open today
Monday 18 January 2021
All day
Martin Luther King Jr. Day - Borough Hall and Schools Closed
Tuesday 19 January 2021
7:30PM
Library Advisory Committee Meeting
Wednesday 20 January 2021
All day
Inauguration Day
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 21 January 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Virtual Book Discussion Salon: "The Eyre Affair" by Jasper Fforde
Saturday 23 January 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open today
Monday 25 January 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 26 January 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 27 January 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Tuesday 2 February 2021
All day
Groundhog Day
Wednesday 3 February 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 4 February 2021
All day
Rosa Parks Day
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Monday 8 February 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 10 February 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Friday 12 February 2021
All day
Lincoln's Birthday - Borough Hall Closed
All day
Chinese New Year
Sunday 14 February 2021
All day
Valentine's Day
Monday 15 February 2021
All day
Presidents Day
Wednesday 17 February 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 18 February 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Virtual Book Discussion Salon: "Educated" by Tara Westover

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours 8am-4:30pm Mon-Thurs (Excluding Holidays)
Fridays Between May 28th - Aug 30th:
Borough Offices Will Close 1:30pm