Mayor
Michael Giordano Jr.
Mayor Giordano
The Mayor is responsible for the day to day operations of the Borough as well as ensuring the enforcement of the legislation passed by the Council.

How Our Borough Government Works

There are three sections of the government:

    • Mayor and Administration - responsible for the day to day operations of the Borough.
    • Council - responsible for creating resolutions and ordinances.
    • Board of Education - responsible for the administration of education.

Your tax bill is actually split into two sections:  one that goes to the Board of Education and one that goes to the Borough Administration.  Neither one has any control over the other and the funds are not shared or co-mingled or transferred back and forth in any way.

The following is reproduced with permission of the North Plainfield Democratic Club:


Ordinances

The Borough Council action may take either form of an ordinance or a resolution.  Ordinances are municipal legislation, usually of a permanent effect, enacted by the Council.  There is a specified procedure for passing an ordinance.  First, it must be brought up at an Agenda Session, at which time the Council decides whether or not to introduce it at a public meeting.  The formal introduction, also known as a First Reading, requires four votes.  Following introduction, the ordinance is published in the Courier-News with reprints available at the Borough Clerk's office.  Two weeks later, the item is read again, and a public hearing is held for citizens who want to address the Council on the matter in question.  After the hearing the Council votes upon the ordinance, four votes being required for passage.  The ordinance must then be signed by the Mayor, and takes effect 20 days later.


Resolutions

Many official actions of the Borough may be accomplished by a resolution of the Council.  These include approval of the annual municipal budget, contracts, mayoral appointments, and other miscellaneous matters.  Resolutions, except for the annual municipal budget, do not require a public hearing, or a second reading.   Usually, they are read at the public meeting, voted upon, and take effect immediately.


Privilege of the Floor

Per each Council meeting agenda, a privilege of the floor is granted at the beginning of the Council Agenda Conference Meeting, at the end of every Regular Council Meeting, and at the beginning of all public hearings for ordinances and annual municipal budgets.  At these designated times, any person may address the Council through the Council President on matters of concern.  There is a five (5) minute time limit for each speaker and a person may speak only once at each occasion.  Appropriate times for public comment are clearly marked on the meeting agenda.


Executive Session

Occasionally, the Council may find it necessary to interrupt a public meeting to hold an executive session.  Generally, this is done for matters regarding litigation, contracts, and/or personnel.


Agenda Session

Before an action is taken at a public meeting, it is usually discussed by the Council at an Agenda Session.  Agenda Sessions are work sessions open to the public.

North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Tuesday 24 November 2020
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 25 November 2020
7:00PM
Cancelled - Planning Board
Thursday 26 November 2020
All day
THANKSGIVING - Borough Hall Closed
Friday 27 November 2020
All day
THANKSGIVING - Borough Hall Closed
Sunday 29 November 2020
4:00PM - 6:00PM
Cancelled - Tree Lighting and Santa Comes to Town
Monday 30 November 2020
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Historic Houses for Contemporary Lives
Wednesday 2 December 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meditation
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Greenbrook Flood Control Commission
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 3 December 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Navigating the FAFSA
Friday 4 December 2020
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Fraud Watch Network Basics - Presented by Cristina Anastasio of AARP
Saturday 5 December 2020
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Free Rabies Clinic
Sunday 6 December 2020
4:00PM
Tree Lighting and Santa Comes to Town
Monday 7 December 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Remembering Pearl Harbor
Tuesday 8 December 2020
11:00AM - 12:00PM
Email 101 for the Job Seeker
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Seasonal Mocktails The Art of Non-Alcoholic Mixology
Wednesday 9 December 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Christmas Lights of New York City
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 10 December 2020
All day
1st Day of Chanukah
12:00PM - 1:00PM
Lunch ‘N Learn with the Doctors: Lung Cancer
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Virtual Book Discussion Salon: "Common Sense" by Thomas Paine
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Saturday 12 December 2020
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open today
2:00PM - 3:30PM
Andrew Carnegie: Man of Steel, Heart of Gold
Monday 14 December 2020
5:00PM
Shade Tree Commission
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Healthy Holidays
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 15 December 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Executive Presence in a Two-Dimensional World
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 16 December 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Songs of the Season: Performed by Robin Greenstein
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 17 December 2020
12:00PM - 5:30PM
RWJ Blood Drive
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Wizard of Oz: A Staged Radio Play
Friday 18 December 2020
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Barre Fusion
Saturday 19 December 2020
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open today
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Keeping the Christmas Spirit in the Victorian Era and Now
7:00PM
Operation Back Pack Benefit Concert
Monday 21 December 2020
All day
WINTER BEGINS!
Wednesday 23 December 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 24 December 2020
All day
CHRISTMAS EVE - Borough Hall Closed
Friday 25 December 2020
All day
CHRISTMAS - Borough Hall Closed
Saturday 26 December 2020
All day
KWANZAA
Thursday 31 December 2020
All day
NEW YEAR'S EVE - Borough Hall Closed
Friday 1 January 2021
All day
NEW YEAR'S DAY - Borough Hall Closed
12:00PM
Council Reorganization Meeting
Wednesday 6 January 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 7 January 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Monday 11 January 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 13 January 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 16 January 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open today
Monday 18 January 2021
All day
Martin Luther King Jr. Day - Borough Hall and Schools Closed
Tuesday 19 January 2021
7:30PM
Library Advisory Committee Meeting
Wednesday 20 January 2021
All day
Inauguration Day
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 21 January 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Virtual Book Discussion Salon: "The Eyre Affair" by Jasper Fforde
Saturday 23 January 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open today
Monday 25 January 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 26 January 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 27 January 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Tuesday 2 February 2021
All day
Groundhog Day
Wednesday 3 February 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 4 February 2021
All day
Rosa Parks Day
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Monday 8 February 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 10 February 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Friday 12 February 2021
All day
Lincoln's Birthday - Borough Hall Closed
All day
Chinese New Year
Sunday 14 February 2021
All day
Valentine's Day
Monday 15 February 2021
All day
Presidents Day
Wednesday 17 February 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 18 February 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Virtual Book Discussion Salon: "Educated" by Tara Westover

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours 8am-4:30pm Mon-Thurs (Excluding Holidays)
Fridays Between May 28th - Aug 30th:
Borough Offices Will Close 1:30pm